The whole liturgical life of our parish revolves around the Eucharistic sacrifice and the sacraments. A sacrament is traditionally defined as an out word sign instituted by Christ to confer grace. Catholics practice seven sacraments.

The seven sacraments are:

  • Eucharist / Communion
  • Baptism
  • Confirmation
  • Penance –  sometimes called: Reconciliation or Confession
  • Anointing of the Sick
  • Holy Orders
  • Matrimony / Marriage

To receive a sacrament other than Baptism or Penance one needs to be in a state of grace, not having committed an un-confessed mortal sin. A mortal sin is any sin whose matter is grave and which has been committed wilfully and with knowledge of its seriousness. Grave matter includes, but is not limited to, murder, receiving or participating in an abortion, homosexual acts, having sexual intercourse outside of marriage or in an invalid marriage, and deliberately engaging in impure thoughts (*Matt. 5:28–29). Scripture contains lists of mortal sins (for example, *1 Cor. 6:9–10 and *Gal. 5:19–21). For further information on what constitutes a mortal sin, see the Catechism of the Catholic Church (Article 8: section 4). If you believe you may be in the state of mortal sin it is advised to contact a priest and arrange a time for the sacrament of penance. 


Saying a Rosary or wearing a Scapular are examples of Catholic Sacraments.

Saying a Rosary or wearing a Scapular are examples of Catholic Sacraments.

We as Catholics also practice sacramentals, which are actions that resemble sacraments. They are the things we do, say, or interact with to help us become aware of Christ’s presence and prepare us for Christs presence and grace in the sacraments. An example of a Sacramental is our parish has candles in the chapel that can be lit and a prayer said for a devotion: family member, friend, neighbor, or cause. Their is a recommended donation of 50 cents or dollar, which money from goes towards the mission of the church.


* Rest mouse over verses to read New American Bible translation.